We deliver the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The EYFS sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from the ages of 0 to  5 years. It is divided into 7 areas of learning and development:

Prime areas

Three areas that are crucial for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and emotional Development

Specific areas

Four areas that are introduced when developmentally appropriate to strengthen and build upon the prime areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

At South Acton Children’s Centre we believe that, like adults, children learn best when they are self-motivated and interested. All teaching is delivered via carefully planned play and provision both indoors and outdoors. Through play young children:

  • Have practical experiences
  • Explore and investigate
  • Use their imagination
  • Do not feel threatened or risk failing
  • Make sense of their world
  • Learn at their own level
  • Learn at their own pace
  • Find out that learning is fun


For further information on the Early Years foundation stage please click on the link.